Thursday, June 25, 2009


Morningstar Beach was alive on Saturday, as forty contestants battled to be crowned Kings and Queen of the 2009 STT Southside Skimslam. All ages came out to compete in this 4th annual amateur skimboard contest. This years youngest competitor award went to 5 year old Adelaide Jones, who also took 6th in the Ladies Division. The Grom (or 10 and under) heats were stacked with action. All skimmed their hearts out, especially Louis Mills, from Atlanta, skimming for the first time. But in the finals it was the Luke Patrie show, taking first place. The Juniors Division was dominated by Nicolas Lopez. After winning a free skimboard, Nic gave his top prize to second place winner, Konner Kendall. When asked why he gave away his first place prize, he responded, "He deserves it, Konner gets this board." Exactly the type of camaraderie the Skimslam has been building in the kids over the last four years. In the Ladies heats there was a close battle between Danielle Andrzejewska and Logan Williams. Logan eventually took the points winning the division. However, Danielle ended up winning the most coveted award, Best Sportsmanship. The Men's heats proved that practice makes perfect. Nonstop, back to back, wave for wave, these guys were showcasing their talents. Huge airs and clean wave riding brought Alejandro Lopez the BIG WIN for the fourth year straight. All hail the KING. This years event, held by was a total success. Dedicated to John "Jack" Deihl. The Skimslam raised a generous sum for the Deihl Family Fund. Special Thanks go out to all he sponsors, families and especially the KIDS who made this Skimslam the Best Ever. Keep Skimming and we will see you Next Year!!


Keep posted for the rest of the shots and video of this years event. its taking a little time due to the amount of sick shots we got of this years Skimslam riders.  

Here are the Results:

Groms (10 and under)

  1. Luke Patrie
  2. Evan Jones
  3. Karson Kendall
  4. Sean Godfrey
  5. Dalton Parr


Juniors (11-15)

  1. Nicolas Lopez
  2. Konner Kedall
  3. Adam Lose
  4. Jahmal Donovan
  5. Tristan Rosenberg



  1. Logan Williams
  2. Danielle Andrzejewska
  3. Julia DiLeo
  4. Annie Brashara
  5. Megan Godfrey
  6. Adelaide Jones


Mens (16+)

  1. Alejandro Lopes
  2. Chris Creque
  3. John Carpenter
  4. John Lenahan
  5. Nolan Diehl